My blog and my first post

Dhananjay Tomar
2 min readJan 7, 2021

--

I started working on a blog using Jekyll and GitHub pages a long time back but couldn’t finish it due to procrastination caused by a lack of motivation for which I luckily have Corona to blame :D. I’ve published only 2 posts so far but I think writing a blog post on research papers is VERY time-consuming. I’m not sure if I wanna spend my free time doing that. But on the other hand, I almost always gain more clarity on the papers I write about. The same thing happens with the reading group I organise for my team where it’s almost always me presenting something. I’m not sure how long will I continue writing posts but for now I think I’ll write a few (or maybe just one I dunno) more. Let’s see how it goes.

I published my first post on my personal blog (GitHub pages) last month. I then did the very basic, minimal SEO stuff and submitted my site to Google but it seems like Google doesn’t have enough time to crawl all the sites in a month. Medium already has an amazing SEO in place due to its popularity. So I think my strategy, for now, is gonna be to write a post on my blog and then publish its link here on Medium as a story. If that doesn’t work then maybe I’ll have to copy my posts to medium as well (with a permalink to my blog). Anyway, lemme start by posting the link to my first post here and write a new story for the NeurIPS 2020 post I’ve just published on my blog. So, here’s the link to my first post (on my blog) ever: https://undercutspiky.github.io/2020/12/05/four_awesome_papers.html. In this post, I’ve written about 4 works that I find pretty interesting but are not super popular. Let me know if you guys have any suggestions for my blog or my posts or whatever.

--

--